My Lifelong learning journey

Interesting Video

Jul 31, 2009

Lifelong learning is a journey where individuals learn through life by many aspects for example life experiences. As a community and society we may learn to adapt and study in order to get our qualifications, like me,  Bachelor of Education so I can become a primary school teacher. After working towards my qualification of CSSD, a sterilization nurse and graduating after a two year traineeship where I worked for 5 days and studied at the same time, I decided I needed a different learning journey. I feel that its never too late to learn something you really want to do, as this continuing  education  will contribute to my development, in both “mind , body and soul”. I am hoping that lifelong learning will allow me the creatively and initiative to respond in both formal and informal settings and mange some uncertainties in my life. Through my lifelong leaning journey, I am hoping to forget some problems in my private life and negotiate conflicts which may occur in the future. Learning is never a waste of time, wether it is in a structured learning environment, or constructivist learning where we may be learning through work. Learning enables us to live together as a society and discover different cultures as we adapt to learning in “future work environments”. Delor’s (1996) defined four ‘pillars’ of education for the future, they are: Learning to know, learning to do, learning to live together and learning to be.

“The emphasis is on learning to learn and the ability to keep learning for a life time”(Life long learning in Australia).

Reference’s:

Information retrieved from,

Delor’s, J, (1996) Learning: Treasure within Report to UNESCO of the International Commission on Education for the Twenty-first Century, UNESCO

Watson, L. (2003) Lifelong Learning in Australia, Canberra, Department of Education, Science and training

Howell, Jennifer. (2012) Teaching with ICT: Digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity, Oxford University Press, South Melbourne Australia.

 

Leave a Reply

